To start with, an apology. I know I do this all the time, but I really did mean to take photos to speckle through this post…..unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), my sourdough has been so successful that it’s disappeared!!! And not to the pigs or chickens I hasten to add!

As you will remember, I started my sourdough back here . It’s bubbled away on top of my pantry, and I’ve been feeding it every day. It’s definitely smelling sour now and a little mould around the top of the bowl yesterday prompted me to move it into a new bowl…a bit of hygiene won’t go amiss!

The first thing I made were sourdough crackers. I hadn’t ever thought about them until seeing a post by the Zero Waste Chef, but they looked good so try them I did. The first batch had a bit of a dry dough and came out a little too dry, not really crispy, just cardboardy…ooops! It didn’t help that I also forgot to put some oil and salt on them as well. Oops again! They did taste most awesome, however, with a dollop of peanut butter on them…the salt from the peanut butter and the sourness of the cracker reminded me a little of salt and vinegar chips, and there’s nothing wrong with that!

Unperturbed, I had another go as I was expecting dinner guests on Saturday. Dinner guest no.1 had perhaps unwisely told me how she loved sourdough (she’s American and everything she used to make comes out of a packet including the sourdough starter). So another batch of crackers were attempted. Adrian made the suggestion of putting some sesame oil and sesame seeds in the dough, and with me remembering the oil and salt on top, and then forgetting them in the oven, they were super crunchy and super tasty…great with the fresh cheese I made in the afternoon.  And they disappeared really fast, hence no photos!

Then came the bread, and even though I didn’t have time to do all the steps of my super-duper lovely French Country Bread, it still turned out very tasty. Today I’ve made another one, and that’s looking great though I haven’t tried it yet.

Yay for sourdough – great, nutritious, tasty food from flour and water and a bit of salt. Wonderful!!!!

And if you’re gluten free, this goodness is not necessarily out of your reach. I have a wonderful book by Andrew Whitley called “Bread Matters. Why and how to make your own” and he suggests a Rice Sourdough…anyone want that recipe, let me know and I can do a post on it.

Right, off to bed shortly, but might just need some bread and butter before then…..forget about the wasteline!!!!

